Muncie Mission has been in operation for over 85 years. In the 1930s, Rev. Eddie Thomas opened the mission in the basement of the old First Baptist Church for the men, women, and children who were in need of food and shelter during the Great Depression. In 1935, Muncie Mission was able to acquire the Alva Kitselman building on South Mulberry to function as the primary location for the Mission. The Mission became incorporated that same year and its first Board of Directors was elected.
A New Era for the Muncie Mission
In September of 2014, Ray and Paula Raines retired after 29 years of seeing God work His grace through Muncie Mission. Together they were the key in God growing a small, grubby space for eating and sleeping into a multi-location ministry using business to pour His provision and healing into thousands of people’s lives. As the Raines’ came to the end of their time at the Mission, Frank and Anna Baldwin’s path began. Frank, with a deep background in both business and ministry, was voted unanimously by the Board to be the next Director. Anna uses her experience and skills (with people and organization) as Human Resources Director and Director of Kitchen Services.
Becoming Who We Are Today
Over the years, we were able to grow more and more, offering more programs and services to the community. We started our long-running chain of Attic Window stores, developed the recycling program, and started serving free community lunches to families in need.
New Facilities Bring New Life
Throughout the years, the Mission has moved locations, but it has always stayed in Muncie, where its operations remain focused on Muncie and East Central Indiana communities. After a successful Capital Campaign, we were able to break ground in 2006 on a brand-new facility at its current location of 1725 S. Liberty Street that would better accommodate the needs of the Men’s Program as well as stand as the new corporate office for the Mission. We moved into the new facility in November of 2008, and opened the facility to the community in January of 2009. We have been blessed to maintain operations in this incredible building ever since.